DiscoWeb Message Boards
 

Go Back   DiscoWeb Message Boards > DiscoWeb Technical Boards > Discovery - Technical Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-02-2015, 09:14 PM
Tammaru Tammaru is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 164
Hi!

Would there be anyone in the central jersey area
That could reset the adaptive values on my ecu? Thanks inadvance!

Tarmo

97 discovery
__________________
97 Disco
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-03-2015, 07:53 AM
discostew discostew is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 4,391
Have you tried to disconnect the battery and touch the two cables together? Called a hard reset and I think that will reset your adaptions.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-03-2015, 04:37 PM
Tammaru Tammaru is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 164
I didn't think that worked with these ECUs? but I will give it a shot!
__________________
97 Disco
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-03-2015, 05:01 PM
Tammaru Tammaru is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 164
that didn't work, anyone in the area that would have the capability to reset the adaptive values? I really don't want to pay the dealership $150.
__________________
97 Disco
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-03-2015, 05:44 PM
ERover82's Avatar
ERover82 ERover82 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Darien Gap
Posts: 2,801
Damn it'd be cheaper to ship it to OR and have me reset it.
__________________
2020 Defender maybe
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-08-2015, 10:47 AM
discostew discostew is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 4,391
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tammaru View Post
that didn't work, anyone in the area that would have the capability to reset the adaptive values? I really don't want to pay the dealership $150.
What are you trying to fix? I think maybe you did reset you adaptions but it didn't fix anything because that's not what's wrong with your truck.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-08-2015, 03:10 PM
fishEH's Avatar
fishEH fishEH is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Lake Villa, IL
Posts: 6,139
Quote:
Originally Posted by discostew View Post
What are you trying to fix? I think maybe you did reset you adaptions but it didn't fix anything because that's not what's wrong with your truck.
I don't think the adaptive values can be reset by the method he performed. I say that because a local Rover tech and shop owner reset mine for me twice, for free. I have to think he would have saved both of us the time and just told me to touch the battery leads together after being disconnected.
I don't ever plan on owning another AEL D1 but I guess I'd still be interested to know if the touching leads method works for sure.
__________________
'98 D1 Trail Rig. Lockers and whatnot. Retired
'96 D1 Daily Driver. OME lift, 235/85/16 Toyo AT's.
'95 D1 Project Truck.
'94 D1 Too good to pass up. OME lift, 265/75/16 BFG AT's, Detroit/TruTrac, etc

Quote:
Originally Posted by discostew View Post
No matter how hard you stir it you won't make chocolate ice cream out of a bucket of shit
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-03-2015, 06:37 PM
acg acg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Chilliwack, BC (previously Washington State)
Posts: 63
Can it be done with an Ultraguage? This may be a cheap solution for the OP.
__________________
__________________
2003 Disco SE7, CDL, 2" TF, 12K winch, 25570R18, Baja Expedition Rack, RTT, Custom Offroad Trailer
2013 ML350 Bluetec

Past loves: 1974 VW Type-3 Fastback, Porsche 944, Porsche 951, Porsche 928
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-03-2015, 07:29 PM
fishEH's Avatar
fishEH fishEH is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Lake Villa, IL
Posts: 6,139
TestBook only I thought.
__________________
'98 D1 Trail Rig. Lockers and whatnot. Retired
'96 D1 Daily Driver. OME lift, 235/85/16 Toyo AT's.
'95 D1 Project Truck.
'94 D1 Too good to pass up. OME lift, 265/75/16 BFG AT's, Detroit/TruTrac, etc

Quote:
Originally Posted by discostew View Post
No matter how hard you stir it you won't make chocolate ice cream out of a bucket of shit
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-04-2015, 12:19 AM
ERover82's Avatar
ERover82 ERover82 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Darien Gap
Posts: 2,801
Autologic, Faultmate, Nanocom, Lynx, Hawkeye, can reset adaptive values as well. Ultragauge can not. The only cheap way is to get someone else to do it.
__________________
2020 Defender maybe
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-04-2016, 01:14 PM
ERover82's Avatar
ERover82 ERover82 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Darien Gap
Posts: 2,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by EricTyrrell View Post
Autologic, Faultmate, Nanocom, Lynx, Hawkeye, can reset adaptive values as well. Ultragauge can not. The only cheap way is to get someone else to do it.
.
__________________
2020 Defender maybe
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-04-2015, 12:23 AM
Timmy!!!!!!! Timmy!!!!!!! is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Bourbon Street
Posts: 4,575
What is the cheapest reader that can reset adaptive values?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ho
Vehicles come and go. That's how it is. Just stay faithful to your woman.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-04-2015, 12:41 AM
ERover82's Avatar
ERover82 ERover82 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Darien Gap
Posts: 2,801
The ones I mentioned are all $500 and up. Newer and cheaper diagnostic systems aren't supporting GEMS.
__________________
2020 Defender maybe
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-04-2015, 01:28 AM
Tammaru Tammaru is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 164
if you are willing to reset it for me, I am more than willing to ship it back and forth to Oregon!
__________________
97 Disco
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-04-2015, 12:36 PM
ERover82's Avatar
ERover82 ERover82 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Darien Gap
Posts: 2,801
If you don't find someone local, pm me. There's go to be hundreds of people that could do it in your area.
__________________
2020 Defender maybe
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-05-2015, 04:17 PM
bendts's Avatar
bendts bendts is offline
N0WTR
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Farmland
Posts: 163
"reset the adaptive values on my ecu?"

Hadn't heard of this - What will this do/benefits?
__________________
2001 Discovery II
2" RTE Springs, FOX Shox, LR Rack
4.6L, A Cam / Almost 0 EPA Pollution Shit - Runs Tits
265/75 Cooper ST Maxx
-------------------------------------------
95 Discovery 1 -- Sold
94 RRC LWB -- Sold
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-08-2015, 10:57 AM
discostew discostew is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 4,391
Quote:
Originally Posted by bendts View Post
"reset the adaptive values on my ecu?"

Hadn't heard of this - What will this do/benefits?
It will fix some fuel issues and close throttle position will be learned so the idle will improve
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-08-2015, 03:32 PM
robertf robertf is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Dallas
Posts: 3,852
Member Trucks
Quote:
Originally Posted by discostew View Post
It will fix some fuel issues and close throttle position will be learned so the idle will improve
wouldnt just driving around cause it to average out the old values with the new values and arrive at the same adaptive value? I think the only benefit to resetting would be to speed up the process, or if the adaptive values are so far off after a repair that it wont run
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-08-2015, 03:42 PM
ERover82's Avatar
ERover82 ERover82 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Darien Gap
Posts: 2,801
I've tested adjusting Long Term Fuel Trim manually with diag tool and it hasn't reverted to previous value in 6 months of driving.
__________________
2020 Defender maybe
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 12-08-2015, 04:40 PM
discostew discostew is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 4,391
I have to do it if someone changes a tps sensor sometimes. The biggest thing that needs to be done is relearning closed throttle position before you set the min idle . Like when you do it right and want the iac counts to be between 9 and 21 or whatever the target counts are
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 12-30-2015, 11:13 AM
Injuhneer's Avatar
Injuhneer Injuhneer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Southeastern Arizona (near Tombstone)
Posts: 396
Member Trucks
I guess the related question would be; has anyone hacked the ECU/ECM to determine what happens during the reset? If it could be identified I'd be all for cracking open the box and jumpering some pins or something.
__________________
./----\˛
|―-|―\--,
́́́́ '-O----O˚
__Лˉ\_Дˉ\__
-< Mike O. >-
'97 Disco I SE V8i - No major mods
1971 Honda ST90: 160cc stroker with CT90 Hi/Lo



Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 12-30-2015, 11:29 AM
robertf robertf is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Dallas
Posts: 3,852
Member Trucks
There's a lot going on there. I'm guessing based on the vintage that the adaptive values are stored in at least 2 serial eeproms since there are 2 processors. I think one is for ignition (ti chip by the green eprom) and the other (by the blue eprom) handles everything else. I read a bunch of EPROMs and was planning on starting disassembling them next time work sends me to nowhere for a few weeks

http://www.flemcodesign.com/pics/IMG_1679.JPG

Looks like the chip under the green EPROM may be one of the serial eeproms. I'll have to get some #s off it and check later
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 12-30-2015, 12:52 PM
Injuhneer's Avatar
Injuhneer Injuhneer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Southeastern Arizona (near Tombstone)
Posts: 396
Member Trucks
I suppose a complete reset of the related EPROM is possible but it seems more likely that it may be a series of commands to the processor in turn writing out to the EPROM.

It would be nice to get a capture of the OEM tools talking to the ECU/ECM and see what commands it is sending. From there it may be simpler to add them to a open source OBDII tool; if in fact OBDII port is where they connect to do this reset.
__________________
./----\˛
|―-|―\--,
́́́́ '-O----O˚
__Лˉ\_Дˉ\__
-< Mike O. >-
'97 Disco I SE V8i - No major mods
1971 Honda ST90: 160cc stroker with CT90 Hi/Lo



Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 12-30-2015, 12:57 PM
robertf robertf is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Dallas
Posts: 3,852
Member Trucks
Quote:
Originally Posted by Injuhneer View Post
I suppose a complete reset of the related EPROM is possible but it seems more likely that it may be a series of commands to the processor in turn writing out to the EPROM
I thought that was obvious and you were asking about the behind the scenes stuff


it would be easy to put together a k and l line packet recorder and record what a scan tool is sending, but goos luck finding someone who bought a scan tool to let you borrow it for the sake of saving money
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 02-02-2016, 10:44 PM
Injuhneer's Avatar
Injuhneer Injuhneer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Southeastern Arizona (near Tombstone)
Posts: 396
Member Trucks
Quote:
Originally Posted by robertf View Post
I thought that was obvious and you were asking about the behind the scenes stuff


it would be easy to put together a k and l line packet recorder and record what a scan tool is sending, but goos luck finding someone who bought a scan tool to let you borrow it for the sake of saving money
Correct. I was interested in the ECM operation as well as how to wipe it. No harm in knowing both.
__________________
./----\˛
|―-|―\--,
́́́́ '-O----O˚
__Лˉ\_Дˉ\__
-< Mike O. >-
'97 Disco I SE V8i - No major mods
1971 Honda ST90: 160cc stroker with CT90 Hi/Lo



Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GEMS adaptive values reset? Tugela Discovery - Technical Discussions 4 01-01-2015 03:59 PM
oil change NVRover LR4/LR3 - Technical Discussions 17 03-23-2010 12:03 AM
SLC Amigo reset or testbook/rovacom? rob mellor Discovery - Technical Discussions 3 07-11-2009 07:44 PM
how to reset adaptive values a2tripp Discovery - Technical Discussions 34 10-20-2008 09:54 PM
Does SES light reset itself? usna87 Discovery - Technical Discussions 4 07-17-2006 07:00 AM

» Log in
User Name Not a member yet?
Register Now!
Password
» Today's Birthdays
offrovn
hunthearin
DiscoRover (55)
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2000 - 2015, DiscoWeb.org. All rights reserved.

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.