DiscoWeb Message Boards
 

Go Back   DiscoWeb Message Boards > DiscoWeb Technical Boards > Discovery - Technical Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-02-2017, 07:40 PM
Barberdisco1 Barberdisco1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Idaho
Posts: 16
So I've been chasing codes and now they are all gone, I've replaced crank sensor,cam sensor,fuel temp sensor, fuel pump, all 4 o2 sensors,water sensor, and I'm still getting a hesitation and misfire at about 35 MPH. I'm at a loss any suggestions would be nice I'm looking into replacing vss.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-02-2017, 07:44 PM
discostew discostew is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 4,313
The vss usually doesn't act up and cause this until your going over 70.

Last edited by discostew; 02-06-2017 at 07:42 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-02-2017, 09:11 PM
Barberdisco1 Barberdisco1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Idaho
Posts: 16
Any ideas then?I'm going to try aND pull more codes then I guess
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-02-2017, 09:14 PM
Barberdisco1 Barberdisco1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Idaho
Posts: 16
Soon as I give it some juice it jumps and shudders misfires
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-02-2017, 10:25 PM
discostew discostew is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 4,313
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barberdisco1 View Post
Soon as I give it some juice it jumps and shudders misfires
What is juice?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-02-2017, 10:31 PM
Barberdisco1 Barberdisco1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Idaho
Posts: 16
Fuel/petrol/suds/ go juice
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-02-2017, 11:09 PM
4Runner's Avatar
4Runner 4Runner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Boise Idaho
Posts: 306
Member Trucks
Have you checked your throttle position sensor?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-02-2017, 11:26 PM
discostew discostew is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 4,313
4Runner is probably on to something here. But don't just go buy a sensor. If you don't have a scanner measure the voltage at the three wires of your TPS. I'm betting that your 5 volt reference voltage for the TPS is being pulled low by your fuel tank pressure sensor. If you just want to cut right to the chase go back to the fuel pump and disconnect the fuel tank pressure sensor and see how it runs.

Do that before you do anything else. I really doubt your TPS failed, it's probably the fuel tank pressure sensor.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-02-2017, 11:46 PM
Barberdisco1 Barberdisco1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Idaho
Posts: 16
So I went out tonight drove 30 miles it jumped sputter d an misfires whole way no check engine light, ran 15 miles with scanner in ran 15 miles without no codes#
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-03-2017, 08:06 AM
discostew discostew is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 4,313
Quote:
Originally Posted by discostew View Post
4Runner is probably on to something here. But don't just go buy a sensor. If you don't have a scanner measure the voltage at the three wires of your TPS. I'm betting that your 5 volt reference voltage for the TPS is being pulled low by your fuel tank pressure sensor. If you just want to cut right to the chase go back to the fuel pump and disconnect the fuel tank pressure sensor and see how it runs.

Do that before you do anything else. I really doubt your TPS failed, it's probably the fuel tank pressure sensor.
What is the TPS voltage on the scanner? It's possible the problem I'm talking about won't store a code.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-03-2017, 08:43 AM
Barberdisco1 Barberdisco1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Idaho
Posts: 16
It's an Ael system if that helps.
And fuel tank pressure sensor must be one of the plug ins on top of fuel tank. I'll report back toda
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-03-2017, 09:05 AM
discostew discostew is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 4,313
It's the flat one. I'm willing to bet money this is your problem.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-03-2017, 10:04 AM
Barberdisco1 Barberdisco1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Idaho
Posts: 16
So if it is bad what is next step replace whole fuel filter or replace the plug
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-03-2017, 10:48 AM
discostew discostew is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 4,313
If you don't have to take emission test. Leave it unplugged and deal with the light. Or buy a $800 pump assembly.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-03-2017, 11:00 AM
Barberdisco1 Barberdisco1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Idaho
Posts: 16
800 $ thet are about 350 to 400$ I'll unplug it and give it a go I'll tell you later how it works
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-03-2017, 11:04 AM
Barberdisco1 Barberdisco1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Idaho
Posts: 16
http://www.roverparts.com/nxt/?keywo...on=Discovery+I
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-05-2017, 10:13 AM
Barberdisco1 Barberdisco1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Idaho
Posts: 16
So I have unplugged brownish red plug didn't change vehicle issues ,unplugged little black hose nothing, throttle sensor maybe? I'm going mad lol
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-05-2017, 10:29 AM
discostew discostew is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 4,313
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barberdisco1 View Post
So I have unplugged brownish red plug didn't change vehicle issues ,unplugged little black hose nothing, throttle sensor maybe? I'm going mad lol
You never told us what kind of fuel pressure you have or what the TPS voltage is on your scanner.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-05-2017, 03:42 PM
Barberdisco1 Barberdisco1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Idaho
Posts: 16
35,36,37 psi not sure about voltage
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-15-2017, 10:33 AM
Barberdisco1 Barberdisco1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Idaho
Posts: 16
So thank you everyone for the ideas ,I found the issue it was a broken wire near fuel tank I'm guessing it was making some sort of connection then cutting out ,it to me longer to check it because of work and crappy weather, so ty again
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 02-15-2017, 10:33 AM
Barberdisco1 Barberdisco1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Idaho
Posts: 16
Now on to cruise control woohoo
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
chasing a tick... AGH Sasquatch Discovery - Technical Discussions 26 05-19-2014 02:25 PM
Chasing Gremlins... Agent Discovery - Technical Discussions 15 04-30-2012 11:57 PM
Chasing a short ScottRN Range Rover - Technical Discussions 5 11-07-2011 11:08 AM
Chasing threads DiscoJen Series - Technical Discussions 7 09-09-2011 07:24 PM
Chasing a Noise mastercamper Discovery - Technical Discussions 2 03-19-2008 12:21 PM

» Log in
User Name Not a member yet?
Register Now!
Password
» Today's Birthdays
None
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2000 - 2015, DiscoWeb.org. All rights reserved.

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.