DiscoWeb Message Boards
 

Go Back   DiscoWeb Message Boards > DiscoWeb Technical Boards > Discovery - Technical Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-12-2009, 04:32 PM
Eekie Eekie is offline
Almost There...
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Central Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 44
I just started getting the sportshift light and the light beside it that is the same symbol but with an M instead of the S flashing. The D for drive flashes and the red gear shfit indicater light also flashes. It did it for me twice already but did not do it for last time I drove it. What is going on and I hope it's a cheap fix....

2004 Disco with 80K

Thanks all!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-12-2009, 05:00 PM
gmookher's Avatar
gmookher gmookher is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Grand Canyon State
Posts: 5,201
got my curiosity?
__________________
https://picasaweb.google.com/NRGEyeCare
https://picasaweb.google.com/116406305465999566777
2001 Porsche 911c4/2005 Audi S4/1999 M3/1983 280 ZXT
2004 Disco2 Ashcroft/ARB/RTE/QT
2013 Subaru Boxxer Reardrive Zenith (BRZ)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-12-2009, 05:18 PM
jhk07's Avatar
jhk07 jhk07 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Seymour Indiana
Posts: 613
limp home mode????
__________________
JHK
2000 DII
Amigo Free
Stock Drive Shaft w/ 4 zerks

1959 SERIES II 88
1983 Datsun 720 King Cab 2WD
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-12-2009, 05:22 PM
pdogg's Avatar
pdogg pdogg is offline
What happened to my title?
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,104
my wife just went thru this in the disco... from what I can tell it's the famous Limp Home mode... for her, the transmission went into 3rd gear, and she described the car as having no power... she shut it off and back on again, and it dissapeared.. I got home that night and tried to recreate it... no such luck.. fine since..

if you search on Limp home mode, you'll find many causes... the most common one is the transmission position switch on the driver side... called the XYZ..
__________________
2002 Discovery SD
3" RTE, 33's, 7100's, pro-comp steelies
1987 Range Rover Classic
2" Terrafirma
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-12-2009, 05:23 PM
pdogg's Avatar
pdogg pdogg is offline
What happened to my title?
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,104
part is not cheap... but not too bad..

http://www.roverparts.com/Parts/UHB100190G.cfm
__________________
2002 Discovery SD
3" RTE, 33's, 7100's, pro-comp steelies
1987 Range Rover Classic
2" Terrafirma
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-12-2009, 05:32 PM
mbrummal's Avatar
mbrummal mbrummal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 2,844
Member Trucks
check your battery and its connections first.
__________________
Mason
'00 DII

If BS was money he'd be a billionaire. -jhmover

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-12-2009, 05:37 PM
pdogg's Avatar
pdogg pdogg is offline
What happened to my title?
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,104
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbrummal
check your battery and its connections first.
yup, I did that too.. all fine.. also a common issue..
__________________
2002 Discovery SD
3" RTE, 33's, 7100's, pro-comp steelies
1987 Range Rover Classic
2" Terrafirma
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-12-2009, 06:06 PM
Eekie Eekie is offline
Almost There...
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Central Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 44
I did notice that at one time pulling out it did seem to lose a little power for just a second. Other than that, it seemed to drive and pull out with regular power. Go figure.... I'll have to keep an eye out for ir next time and stop in to Autozone and get the code. BTW, what is the switchgear position Xyz part mentioned in one of the replies?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-12-2009, 06:37 PM
pdogg's Avatar
pdogg pdogg is offline
What happened to my title?
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,104
you won't have any codes in the OBD2 port..

the XYZ selector sits on the side of the transimission and is where the cable from the shifter goes.. it selects P..N..D..3..2..1..etc.. apparently the contant AC drain water dripping on it can cause moisture to get inside and foul it up..
__________________
2002 Discovery SD
3" RTE, 33's, 7100's, pro-comp steelies
1987 Range Rover Classic
2" Terrafirma
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-12-2009, 08:42 PM
Eekie Eekie is offline
Almost There...
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Central Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 44
So it's easy to get to and swap out (IF I have to replace)? I'll look for the xyz and check my battery out tomorrow.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-12-2009, 08:48 PM
Eekie Eekie is offline
Almost There...
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Central Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 44
Guys, I have to apologize for this thread and for not doing a search first. I did so a half assed search but I guess I didn't type in the right stuff to get a hit or either I looked over the thread I needed. I'll keep an eye out to see if it happens again.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-14-2009, 03:52 PM
Eekie Eekie is offline
Almost There...
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Central Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 44
Well, I stopped at AutoZone and had the battery tested. It came out as a bad battery. I did notice that my connections were pretty crusty also. So, it's off get a new battery.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-14-2009, 05:17 PM
pdogg's Avatar
pdogg pdogg is offline
What happened to my title?
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,104
good news.
__________________
2002 Discovery SD
3" RTE, 33's, 7100's, pro-comp steelies
1987 Range Rover Classic
2" Terrafirma
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-15-2009, 06:58 AM
Eekie Eekie is offline
Almost There...
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Central Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 44
Damn...new battery did not work. The M and S lights came on this am again while the wife pulled out of the driveway on her way to work. Any other suggestions for a solution before I dive into an XYZ switch?

BTW - alternator is strong
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-15-2009, 08:07 AM
jhk07's Avatar
jhk07 jhk07 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Seymour Indiana
Posts: 613
Well man..... I dunno the symptoms of XYZ failure, but you might want to search and read up on CKPS (crankcase position sensor). that puppy will also make your "limp home mode" M & S lights come on.
__________________
JHK
2000 DII
Amigo Free
Stock Drive Shaft w/ 4 zerks

1959 SERIES II 88
1983 Datsun 720 King Cab 2WD
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-15-2009, 10:37 AM
pdogg's Avatar
pdogg pdogg is offline
What happened to my title?
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,104
as long as you're not in "limp dick mode", you'll be fine ... just fine...
__________________
2002 Discovery SD
3" RTE, 33's, 7100's, pro-comp steelies
1987 Range Rover Classic
2" Terrafirma
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-17-2009, 11:14 AM
Eekie Eekie is offline
Almost There...
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Central Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 44
OK...I finally got the check engine light to come on and it threw the code P0705 transaxle range switch fault. I am assuming it is the XYZ swtich that is failing. I just want to verify with you guru's that my assumption is the XYZ switch. How much of a bitch is it to replace myself? If I do not move anything when removing the old switch can I just bolt in the new switch? I read here that there is a special tool for this, but is it something that I really need? anyone have any experience with the used parts from Roverland? They have the switch used for 125.00 or should I just get new from AB for 239.00. I guess I asking if something like this should be trusted to a used part? I'm sure they would be OK coming from RL but I would hate to do this again in 6 months.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-17-2009, 12:06 PM
Eekie Eekie is offline
Almost There...
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Central Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 44
UPDATE...I decided to let the local trans shop do my XYZ switch swap. They said that the swap will take about an hour and estimated the labor cost at about $65. I'll pay that instead of doing it myself and screwing up the switch positioning on the trans. For some reason, I'm scared shitless to touch transmissions. Oh, yea, I'm still on the fence about the used or new switch...any thoughts?

Oh, BTW...I hope my own gear shift senor never goes out (pobably an error code I-0069) and puts me in "Limp dick mode"....

Last edited by Eekie; 10-17-2009 at 12:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-17-2009, 12:30 PM
flyfisher11's Avatar
flyfisher11 flyfisher11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Wolf Laurel NC
Posts: 8,676
Get a new switch from Will Tillery aka roverguy.com 423 251 9331
__________________
Y2KD2
95 RRC
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09-13-2018, 06:59 AM
JUKE179r's Avatar
JUKE179r JUKE179r is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Suffolk, England
Posts: 162
Member Trucks
I know this is an old post for the P0705 fault code (TRANSMISSION RANGE SENSOR CIRCUIT MALFUNCTION (PRNDL INPUT) when I searched whole forum. I'll post my problem here to help others with the same issues in the future...

This morning I got the flashing S&M lights and somehow I lost gears when I was driving up levels in a garage. Even though I was in "Drive", I pressed the accelerator pedal and my Disco started rolling backwards like it was in "Neutral". I rolled backwards to safe spot in the garage, cleared the P0705 code with my Nanocom and kept on driving like nothing happened.

My battery connections are good and I never had that fault code before. Weird...



I'm thinking my troubles are related to my xyz switch. I've been meaning to disassemble my switch and give it a good internal cleaning and reseal. I might have to make that a priority if I get more of the P0705 fault codes.


__________________
Pictures of Disco Myrtle... https://discoweb.org/showthread.php?t=94365

- 2001 Java Black Discovery 2 SE (LHD) "MYRTLE", 107K miles, 4.0L V8, SAI, Safari Gard bumpers, Warn XD9000i winch, KO2 265/75R16 on steel rims, 3" TF lift, LEDs, UltraGauge Blue, Foxwell NT510, Nanocom Evo II
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flashing lights pwp Discovery - Technical Discussions 11 03-12-2010 02:11 PM
Stuck in Park, S & M Flashing and no hazard lights? pamo61 Discovery - Technical Discussions 6 09-02-2009 06:31 PM
04 DII - No flashing lights when locking? specops1526 Discovery - Technical Discussions 4 03-03-2009 10:15 AM
flashing "m" and "s" lights tpern8 Discovery - Technical Discussions 21 03-06-2008 06:37 PM
Flashing lights ColoDisco2 Discovery - Technical Discussions 4 06-28-2005 02:22 PM

» Log in
User Name Not a member yet?
Register Now!
Password
» Today's Birthdays
u352 (49)
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2000 - 2015, DiscoWeb.org. All rights reserved.

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.