DiscoWeb Message Boards
 

Go Back   DiscoWeb Message Boards > DiscoWeb Technical Boards > Discovery - Technical Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-11-2017, 01:24 PM   #1
bsa_m21
Almost There...
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 48
Default D1 160amp alternator

Hi,

I just picked up a 160amp alternator off eBay. Before I mount it, I was looking at the wiring diagram for my truck. Between the battery and Alternator there is a 100amp fusible link.

Should I be upgrading that to a 160amp fuse, or should I disconnect the alternator from the panel and run a separate line from the alternator to the battery with a 160amp inline link?

Thoughts?

M.
bsa_m21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 01:31 PM   #2
D Chapman
Member
 
D Chapman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: On Kennith's private island
Posts: 10,494
Default Re: D1 160amp alternator

160amp? What could you possibly be running that requires this much energy? A football stadium?
D Chapman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 01:47 PM   #3
p m
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: La Jolla, CA
Posts: 13,735
Default Re: D1 160amp alternator

A beginning of a new "why do my lights flicker at idle" thread.

M - this could be a great option for you.
p m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 02:25 PM   #4
bsa_m21
Almost There...
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 48
Default Re: D1 160amp alternator

Why? I went through two rebuilt alternators that lasted only a month or two. (Diode packs went.) So I decided to buy a new one and I thought I might as well go for an upgrade while at it.

PM - Thanks for the link. I was considering something like that also.
bsa_m21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 02:30 PM   #5
German Gruner
Member
 
German Gruner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Boulogne, Bs. As., Argentina
Posts: 113
Member Trucks
Default Re: D1 160amp alternator

Quote:
Originally Posted by bsa_m21 View Post
(Diode packs went.)
Diode puncture comes when a line breaks. You should check your mass cables and connections for contact troubles in order not to get another went pack

Regards
__________________
_________________________
1998 D1300 TDI & 2003 DII Td5 hse
German Gruner is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 05:17 PM   #6
bsa_m21
Almost There...
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 48
Default Re: D1 160amp alternator

Quote:
Originally Posted by German Gruner View Post
Diode puncture comes when a line breaks. You should check your mass cables and connections for contact troubles in order not to get another went pack
Back of alternator has leads marked B, D & W. According to my manual:
B - goes to engine bay fuse box and then via 100amp link to battery & starter.
D - goes to the charge light
W - goes via an 820 Ohm "Phase Tap Resistor" to the tachometer

I am going to replace the alternator to battery cables, and take apart the fuse box and clean all contacts. Should I also plan to replace the 100amp fuse?

Could the leads to the charging light and tach also cause the diodes to burn out?

M.
bsa_m21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 02:44 PM   #7
p m
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: La Jolla, CA
Posts: 13,735
Default Re: D1 160amp alternator

Quote:
Originally Posted by bsa_m21 View Post
Why? I went through two rebuilt alternators that lasted only a month or two. (Diode packs went.) So I decided to buy a new one and I thought I might as well go for an upgrade while at it.

PM - Thanks for the link. I was considering something like that also.
There are cheaper options as well; I might use this 400A breaker to keep the winch cabling cold whenever I don't anticipate the need in a winch.
__________________
There is a fine line between being an idiot and thinking outside the box with a touch of apathy - RobertF
p m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 04:57 PM   #8
bsa_m21
Almost There...
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 48
Default Re: D1 160amp alternator

That's a good idea also.

I physically disconnect the winch power lead when not going/plannning to use it. It's a 30 second job with my setup.

M.
bsa_m21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 05:15 PM   #9
p m
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: La Jolla, CA
Posts: 13,735
Default Re: D1 160amp alternator

Quote:
Originally Posted by bsa_m21 View Post
That's a good idea also.

I physically disconnect the winch power lead when not going/plannning to use it. It's a 30 second job with my setup.

M.
I did it before, but I don't like loose 1-gauge wires velcro'ed to the nearest available object under the hood. So it is connected - but it is a matter of time for the insulation to chaff through. The linked above breaker is on its way to me.
p m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 05:27 PM   #10
p m
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: La Jolla, CA
Posts: 13,735
Default Re: D1 160amp alternator

I looked at these - 200A rating somewhat stressed me out with a 12k winch. I also looked at marine battery switches - but most of these rated past 300A are too bulky. Hope to get my breaker in the mail in a few days.
p m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 08:26 PM   #11
mbrummal
Member
 
mbrummal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 2,834
Member Trucks
Default Re: D1 160amp alternator

This is the disconnect I use for my winch:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00445KFZ2

It's rated at 500A for 5 min, 300A continuous, That seems like plenty unless you are using your winch way too much.
__________________
Mason
'00 DII

If BS was money he'd be a billionaire. -jhmover

mbrummal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 09:20 PM   #12
p m
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: La Jolla, CA
Posts: 13,735
Default Re: D1 160amp alternator

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbrummal View Post
This is the disconnect I use for my winch:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00445KFZ2

It's rated at 500A for 5 min, 300A continuous, That seems like plenty unless you are using your winch way too much.
Nice find, Mason! I have something similar, but quite a bit larger.
p m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 09:25 PM   #13
bsa_m21
Almost There...
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 48
Talking Re: D1 160amp alternator

Just came across this, for a really crazy alternator setup...

http://powerbastards.com/proddetail....=Fitzall%2D220

Hmm. I could light up the whole neighborhood!

M.
bsa_m21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2017, 12:20 PM   #14
p m
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: La Jolla, CA
Posts: 13,735
Default Re: D1 160amp alternator

Quote:
Originally Posted by bsa_m21 View Post
Just came across this, for a really crazy alternator setup...

http://powerbastards.com/proddetail....=Fitzall%2D220

Hmm. I could light up the whole neighborhood!

M.
Did you notice this little gem?
"FREE OVER-DRIVE Alternator Pulley pre-installed on every high output alternator"
__________________
There is a fine line between being an idiot and thinking outside the box with a touch of apathy - RobertF
p m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2017, 02:51 PM   #15
German Gruner
Member
 
German Gruner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Boulogne, Bs. As., Argentina
Posts: 113
Member Trucks
Default Re: D1 160amp alternator

Quote:
Could the leads to the charging light and tach also cause the diodes to burn out?
I think no control or signal lines, only power lines can blow diodes by sudden cuts.

Regards
__________________
_________________________
1998 D1300 TDI & 2003 DII Td5 hse
German Gruner is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2017, 02:35 AM   #16
bsa_m21
Almost There...
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 48
Default Re: D1 160amp alternator

Well I've replaced the battery with a new 880CCA unit, cleaned all connections and verified that there is little resistance on the battery to fusebox cable, and the box to alternator cable. I even cleaned all the fuse to bus connections. But, I haven't installed the new 160 amp unit yet and have the replacement rebuilt 100amp unit still installed.

The way D1's are wired, there is a 100amp fuse inline between the alternator and the battery. As such, it can never provide more than 100 amps to the battery or it will blow the fuse. My winch is connected to the battery via a relay, so it conceivably can draw more than 100amp from the alternator and blow the fuse. I don't like that idea, especially as it's out in the bush when I need the winch.

There are 150 amp fuses available, as well as re-settable ciruit breakers, but I was wondering if changing the fuse, or wiring in a circuit breaker might cause other problems with 21yr old electronics.

Thoughts anyone?

M.
bsa_m21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2017, 08:25 AM   #17
ezzzzzzz
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: SE Va
Posts: 423
Default Re: D1 160amp alternator

The limit is more likely the wire gauge than the fuse. The system will only pull what amps it needs. All of these circuits are fused further down the line. If you upgrade to a 150amp fuse upgrade the wire too. Use a chart to determine gauge needed as it can be smaller in short runs. Also consider the extended run time and amperage draw of a winch in use.
ezzzzzzz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2017, 06:57 PM   #18
Blueboy
Member
 
Blueboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Back in the USA; Somerset, PA
Posts: 1,782
Member Trucks
Default Re: D1 160amp alternator

Quote:
The linked above breaker is on its way to me
Did you get an opportunity to install this?

If so a pic or 2 would be great to see.

Thanks!
Blueboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2017, 08:21 PM   #19
p m
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: La Jolla, CA
Posts: 13,735
Default Re: D1 160amp alternator

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blueboy View Post
Did you get an opportunity to install this?
No, but I already learned that it's a great substitute for a fidget spinner
p m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2017, 11:40 PM   #20
German Gruner
Member
 
German Gruner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Boulogne, Bs. As., Argentina
Posts: 113
Member Trucks
Default Re: D1 160amp alternator

Quote:
No, but I already learned that it's a great substitute for a fidget spinner
German Gruner is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
d2 150 AMP ALTERNATOR WILL.TILLERY Parts For Sale 2 04-27-2011 12:05 PM
D1 alternator LI Disco Parts Wanted 1 10-27-2009 05:14 PM
Trade - new 4.0 alternator for new or slightly used 3.9 alternator junkyarddisco Parts For Sale 6 03-28-2009 10:34 AM
In need of an alternator for a DII WNYDiscoIIErik Parts Wanted 1 12-10-2007 12:27 PM
Is my alternator going out? cyoc62 Discovery - Technical Discussions 4 10-29-2007 05:06 PM

» Log in
User Name Not a member yet?
Register Now!
Password
» Today's Birthdays
jbdisco2 (55)
Yeti (43)
mainerova (37)
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2000 - 2015, DiscoWeb.org. All rights reserved.

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.