DiscoWeb Message Boards
 

Go Back   DiscoWeb Message Boards > DiscoWeb Technical Boards > Discovery - Technical Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-30-2018, 08:11 AM
BigLouAamich BigLouAamich is offline
Almost There...
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Burke Virginia
Posts: 42
Couldn't stand not having a Disco any more. So now I'm in the market for a CDL. One quick question. The local Junk Yard just got in a 96. Can I pull the CDL from the front of the transfer case and other bits or is it not compatible and I need to pull from a Disco 2 with one?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-30-2018, 09:06 AM
German Gruner's Avatar
German Gruner German Gruner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Boulogne, Bs. As., Argentina
Posts: 241
Member Trucks
D1 has a rod linkage, that of D2 is a cable - . You can get to adapt but it would be easier to pull from a D2 with one.

Regards
__________________
_________________________
1998 D1300 TDI & 2003 DII Td5 hse
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-30-2018, 09:23 AM
roverover's Avatar
roverover roverover is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lancaster PA
Posts: 3,659
Does your 03 have a CDL nipple? They didn't come with one you may need the entire nose from the D1
__________________
'00 D2 for the trails

40 more for parts

UsedRoverParts@yahoo.com

www.UsedLandRoverParts.com

www.BritishBoneYard.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-30-2018, 09:23 AM
BigLouAamich BigLouAamich is offline
Almost There...
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Burke Virginia
Posts: 42
I meant pulling the entire front from the transfer case. Not just the shifter and linkage. 2003 doesn't have the internals in the transfer case for the CDL.



Quote:
Originally Posted by German Gruner View Post
D1 has a rod linkage, that of D2 is a cable - . You can get to adapt but it would be easier to pull from a D2 with one.

Regards
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-30-2018, 09:46 AM
K-rover's Avatar
K-rover K-rover is offline
Keyboard Pounder II
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,836
Member Trucks
Just swap the whole transfer case and do seal job on it while its out.
__________________
2001 D2
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-30-2018, 11:16 AM
German Gruner's Avatar
German Gruner German Gruner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Boulogne, Bs. As., Argentina
Posts: 241
Member Trucks
Quote:
I meant pulling the entire front from the transfer case. Not just the shifter and linkage. 2003 doesn't have the internals in the transfer case for the CDL.
Sorry, forgot NAS transfers don?t. Here is a little bit easier

Regards
__________________
_________________________
1998 D1300 TDI & 2003 DII Td5 hse
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-31-2018, 08:38 AM
ezzzzzzz ezzzzzzz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: SE Va
Posts: 566
I swapped in a earlier D1 front housing into my 02 D2. In my case, there is wiring for 2 switches that tell the SLABS low range is engaged. The D1 housing only had one switch on top and just in front of the lockout solenoid. There was no switch in the housing just in front of the low range shift assembly (it would face forward on a horizonal angle). I had to wire in a switch which I mounted in the dash for this purpose. Without that switch the hill descent would not work. The low range/diff lock functioned normally since it's all mechanical anyhow.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-31-2018, 09:03 AM
BigLouAamich BigLouAamich is offline
Almost There...
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Burke Virginia
Posts: 42
I might go that route. I need to check the other yard I go to. They show a 2004 in the inventory. If that one isn't viable I'll pull the one from the D1.



Quote:
Originally Posted by ezzzzzzz View Post
I swapped in a earlier D1 front housing into my 02 D2. In my case, there is w airing for 2 switches that tell the SLABS low range is engaged. The D1 housing only had one switch on top and just in front of the lockout solenoid. There was no switch in the housing just in front of the low range shift assembly (it would face forward on a horizonal angle). I had to wire in a switch which I mounted in the dash for this purpose. Without that switch the hill descent would not work. The low range/diff lock functioned normally since it's all mechanical anyhow.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-31-2018, 12:08 PM
ukoffroad's Avatar
ukoffroad ukoffroad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Lynchburg, Va
Posts: 1,410
I put a DI in my last DII, I have one for this current DII as well once I get the other nonsense sorted.
__________________
Chuck

1967 IIa.
00 DII.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-05-2018, 09:00 AM
BigLouAamich BigLouAamich is offline
Almost There...
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Burke Virginia
Posts: 42
I was able to pull the shifter and cables from a 2004 at a local yard. Bought a transfer case from a 2004 from Will Tillery.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11-11-2018, 09:42 AM
BigLouAamich BigLouAamich is offline
Almost There...
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Burke Virginia
Posts: 42
I swapped out the front of the Tcase I bought off Will and got everything back together. Saving the 2004 main Tcase as a spare. Like an idiot I didn't check the switch that turns on the light on the dash. It's wired correctly. I checked that before I put it all back together. Anybody have any luck replacing that switch from the bottom. I'm not in the mood to take the console and everything back off. I have a working CDL now so I'm just going to live with it for a while if I can't get to it from underneath.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-11-2018, 12:28 PM
German Gruner's Avatar
German Gruner German Gruner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Boulogne, Bs. As., Argentina
Posts: 241
Member Trucks
It's not impossible to find and change this switch from underneath. You can work with a mirror or taking images with your cel phone

Regards
__________________
_________________________
1998 D1300 TDI & 2003 DII Td5 hse
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-12-2018, 09:03 AM
BigLouAamich BigLouAamich is offline
Almost There...
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Burke Virginia
Posts: 42
I'm gonna pretend the light is on for the moment.



Quote:
Originally Posted by German Gruner View Post
It's not impossible to find and change this switch from underneath. You can work with a mirror or taking images with your cel phone

Regards
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-18-2018, 08:42 AM
BigLouAamich BigLouAamich is offline
Almost There...
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Burke Virginia
Posts: 42
Well. The light magically came on.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigLouAamich View Post
I'm gonna pretend the light is on for the moment.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about buying a used 2003 DII JohnOlson28 Discovery - Technical Discussions 5 06-01-2010 04:56 PM
Quick 2003 DII question WHB Discovery - Technical Discussions 10 04-26-2010 10:59 PM
4.6 2003 question D2 MontrealRR90 Discovery - Technical Discussions 5 06-05-2009 12:32 PM
2003 RR question Steph Range Rover - Technical Discussions 19 09-12-2008 11:01 AM
Bought a New Disco + Rack Question EJB90 Discovery - Technical Discussions 7 02-17-2008 08:21 PM

» Log in
User Name Not a member yet?
Register Now!
Password
» Today's Birthdays
netjaws (75)
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2000 - 2015, DiscoWeb.org. All rights reserved.

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.