DiscoWeb Message Boards
 

Go Back   DiscoWeb Message Boards > DiscoWeb Technical Boards > Discovery - Technical Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-06-2018, 11:01 AM
mjbrox's Avatar
mjbrox mjbrox is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Golden CO
Posts: 1,530
I was screwing around with my wiindow switches while the truck was running. (yes I know that was dumb)

Then all of sudden the blower fan kicked out. I checked the fuses and they look good.

What next? is there any relation to the window switches and blower fan
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-06-2018, 11:18 AM
Levi's Avatar
Levi Levi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Cheyenne, WY
Posts: 492
Is it set on high? Mine cuts out on high but not on the lower settings. IIRC there is something in the manual about it turning off on high but I could be wrong.
__________________
98 DI LSE
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-06-2018, 11:46 AM
mjbrox's Avatar
mjbrox mjbrox is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Golden CO
Posts: 1,530
Quote:
Originally Posted by Levi View Post
Is it set on high? Mine cuts out on high but not on the lower settings. IIRC there is something in the manual about it turning off on high but I could be wrong.
mine also did that but its not running on any level now.

Im scared I may have fried something
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-06-2018, 12:47 PM
German Gruner's Avatar
German Gruner German Gruner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Boulogne, Bs. As., Argentina
Posts: 198
Member Trucks
electric mass point near right passenger foot... its the only thing
regards
__________________
_________________________
1998 D1300 TDI & 2003 DII Td5 hse
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-06-2018, 01:04 PM
mjbrox's Avatar
mjbrox mjbrox is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Golden CO
Posts: 1,530
Quote:
Originally Posted by German Gruner View Post
electric mass point near right passenger foot... its the only thing
regards
What is that?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-06-2018, 01:16 PM
best4x4's Avatar
best4x4 best4x4 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Beaumont, TX
Posts: 388
You can use a D2 rear ac switch on a 94-99 D1. It takes a little work, but the slider switch itself is the exact same part. Check 2 wire connector going to the blower motor itself (they sometimes melt & stop working on D1/D2’s).
__________________
04 D2 S
99 D2 ACE SE7
02 D2 SE Kalahari
03 D2 SE
06 LR3 HSE

Old LR's:

97 D1 SE Rio Red (totaled)
97 P38 HSE Vitesse AA Yellow (Sold)
03 D2 SE Java Black (Sold)
03 D2 SE7 Zambezi Silver (Sold)
98 D1 LSE British Racing Green (Sold)
04 D2 SE Zambezi Silver (Sold)
02 D2 SE Java Black (Sold)
98 D1 LSE
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-06-2018, 01:30 PM
German Gruner's Avatar
German Gruner German Gruner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Boulogne, Bs. As., Argentina
Posts: 198
Member Trucks
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjbrox View Post
What is that?
Both blower motor and windows ECU are connected to this mass screw.
You should take plastic trim apart, and check this grounding nut. It might be rusted.
Are You sure it is no false contact from slide control?
If yes, then check this nut

Regards
__________________
_________________________
1998 D1300 TDI & 2003 DII Td5 hse
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-06-2018, 01:41 PM
mjbrox's Avatar
mjbrox mjbrox is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Golden CO
Posts: 1,530
Quote:
Originally Posted by German Gruner View Post
Both blower motor and windows ECU are connected to this mass screw.
You should take plastic trim apart, and check this grounding nut. It might be rusted.
Are You sure it is no false contact from slide control?
If yes, then check this nut

Regards
okay, ill check it out
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-11-2018, 08:41 PM
mjbrox's Avatar
mjbrox mjbrox is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Golden CO
Posts: 1,530
The ground looks good and the wires going to the blower motor look good.

I guess I need to pull apart the dash and check the switch
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-11-2018, 09:37 PM
jymmiejamz's Avatar
jymmiejamz jymmiejamz is offline
KN4JHI
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Los Angeles, Ca
Posts: 5,200
Do you have a volt meter? I would want to check for power at the blower as you could just have a bad blower.
__________________
@carcampingcollective
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-12-2018, 11:37 PM
eburrows's Avatar
eburrows eburrows is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Orange County, Ca, USA
Posts: 193
I've had the blower motor speed controller go bad, and the power wire from the fuse box break somewhere behind the dash. Check for voltage. It should be battery voltage to the speed controller, and vary at the motor based on the selected fan speed.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AC/Heater blower doesn't work... Sharri Discovery - Technical Discussions 14 12-14-2011 07:04 PM
Blower motor doesn't work - fix & more kaz Discovery - Technical Discussions 2 11-08-2011 11:26 AM
RH Blower 98 P38 Dieter Parts Wanted 1 10-19-2009 11:12 AM
blower motor wont work michaeljensen Discovery - Technical Discussions 4 01-19-2009 12:53 AM
Fan blower rpet Discovery - Technical Discussions 3 06-16-2005 10:55 AM

» Log in
User Name Not a member yet?
Register Now!
Password
» Today's Birthdays
None
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2000 - 2015, DiscoWeb.org. All rights reserved.

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.